lyx 1.5.x and 1.4.5 backports

You can find here lyx 1.5.3:

deb http://download.tuxfamily.org/emiscabpo/lyx15-bpo ./

and here it is the 1.4.5 version (for the ones who want to stick with the 1.4.x version:

deb http://download.tuxfamily.org/emiscabpo/lyx14-bpo ./

These repositories contain a backported libboost 1.34 library, that could be installed alongside the 1.33 version. Please note that the libboost-dev package of the 1.34 version overrides the libboost 1.33 one in apt.

4 comments so far

  1. G Philip on

    I was pointed to this place by the folks in the LyX newsgroup after I burnt my hands installing the LyX 1.5.3 package available at http://lyx.cybermirror.org/bin/1.5.3/lyx_1.5.3-1_i386_etch.deb . Installing the package available here solved my problem, but I had to run Tools -> Reconfigure after the installation to get rid of the error message.

  2. emiscabpo on

    Sorry, what error message? Could you better explain me what happened?

  3. G Philip on

    After I installed the LyX 1.5.3 package available at http://lyx.cybermirror.org/bin/1.5.3/lyx_1.5.3-1_i386_etch.deb, I started getting the following error message whenever I opened any document of the article class (I suspect I would have got similar messages about other classes as well) :

    “The layout file requested by this document, article.layout, is not usable. … LyX will not be able to produce output.”

    and I was not able to get any output from LyX, just as the message said.

    This error message and attendant behaviour persisted even after I uninstalled that LyX package and installed the package available here, but went away once I ran Tools -> Reconfigure.

    Hope this clears things. Sorry for being unintelligible the first time around.

    Regards,
    Philip

  4. emisca on

    That’s strange but perhaps the solution could be useful for other users that may have those problems.


Leave a Reply

